Haikus of a Chicken Owner

My mom told me I

Liked chickens more than santa

At the age of three

.

Chicks in the basement

Little peeps below warm light

Tiny fuzzy balls

.

Watching them outside

Scratching through the leaves for worms

And looking at me

.

Warm, brown and green eggs

Collecting them each morning

Omelets for breakfast

.

No compost pile

Just a tin bowl for scrap food

Fruit like cantaloupe

.

But varmints attacked

Many nights we woke up to

Terrified squawking

.

My jealous brothers

Hated that I had a gun

When they never did

.

Then one winter day

Saw a possum in a nest

Mouth open, sharp teeth

.

And I remembered

Finding the livers and feet

Of chickens attacked

.

Ran inside the house

School girl in uniform

Looking for my gun

.

Vegetarian

Wanting to shoot out the eyes

Of this animal

.

Confessed to my mom

Called a friend with a riffle

Smiled as he shot

.

(written in 2011)

1 Comment

Filed under poems

One response to “Haikus of a Chicken Owner

  1. Sharon Roznik

    That was beautiful Anna. I so enjoy your writing.
    Mrs. Neil Young

Leave a Reply

