Tomato Bisque Recipe

I became a bit addicted to tomato bisque over the winter.  I bought a quart once a week from the soup market by my house.  For a quart of soup with bread, I spent $14.  “This is outrageous!”  I thought.  “I know I can make a soup that’s delicious and cheaper than this!!

After several attempts, this is what I wound up with.  It’s crazy cheap to make and very simple too.  I make a big batch but it is easy to cut this recipe in half.

Chop up a small/medium onion, 2 celery stalks, and 2 large carrots119

Put a dash of olive oil in a frying pan and cook up the veggies (just a few minutes)120

Dice or press 2 cloves of garlic.  Add ’em in. and stir.

121

Transfer the veggies from a frying pan to a soup pot.

Add two large cans of diced tomatoes.

(you can choose seasoned tomatoes, you can add a can of tomato paste… play with it!)

122

Add some vegetable stock

(mine is homemade.  It costs nothing to make and I will post the recipe soon)

123

Time for spices.  Mix it up.  I always use basil, oregano, and crushed red pepper.  I find that adding heat takes away the need for sugar in this recipe.  You can also add hot sauce, rosemary, thyme.  Put in things you like.124

Stir…125

And stir…126

I let this cook for a while- maybe 15 minutes from the time I add the broth until the time I blend it.  If it’s too thick, I add more broth.  If not, I’m ready to blend.  Immersion blenders are the soup-maker’s best friend.  Buy one with a fun handle if you don’t have one yet.  127

Blend it up.
128

Til the veggie chunks are all gone…
129

And now for the naughty part.  Add cream.  Use all of the smallest container in the grocery store or use half of a big container.130

Blend again.131

Time to eat!  The veggies add so much flavor but they’re all disguised in tomato goodness.  132

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Tomato Bisque Recipe

  1. Wow, Anna, great pix. I have to try this!

  2. PS I tried to “like” this posting, but WordPress wouldn’t let me – I swear I’ve opened an account with them in the past. They don’t recognize me.

Leave a Reply

